INFO: The Meeting

The forthcoming 11th International Meeting on Yeast Apoptosis will take place in Portugal, in the beautiful city of Porto, and is organized by researchers of the Centre of Molecular and Environmental Biology (CBMA) / Department of Biology (DB) / School of Sciences (ECUM), and of the Institute of Life and Health Sciences Research (ICVS) / School of Health Sciences (ECS), of University of Minho. It aims to join enthusiastic researchers that exploit yeast as a preferential cellular model to study regulated cell death, aging and stress response pathways. The scientific program includes keynote, invited and selected lectures, as well as poster presentations. The conference sessions will cover different topics, including (but not limited to):

. Cell death/Pathways
. Organelles in cell death
. Aging
. Signaling/Proteostasis
. Yeast models in cancer and other diseases

We invite you all to share knowledge with renowned scientists and to participate in discussions about the latest advances in this field.
Looking forward to welcome you in Porto.

Special issue

Participants are invited to contribute with a paper to a special issue of Mechanisms in Ageing and Development ( for more informations see Info on the  menu site).

Key Dates

Early registration: New date May 31
Abstract Submission deadline: New date July 10
Late Abstract Submission deadline: until September 15 (Not included in printed abstract book, but provided as a separate addendum to participants)
Late meeting registration: until September 21

Organizing Committee

Manuela Côrte-Real,
 CBMA/DB (Chair)
Paula Ludovico,
 ICVS/ECS (Chair)
Cecília Leão, ICVS/ECS
Maria João Sousa, CBMA/DB
Susana Chaves, CBMA/DB
Belém Sampaio-Marques, ICVS/ECS
Maria Manuel Azevedo



Scientific Committee

William Burhans (Buffalo, USA)
Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Campbell Gourlay (UK)
University of Kent

Cristina Mazzoni
Sapienza Università di Roma

Dina Petranovic (Sweden)
Chalmers University of Technology

Frank Madeo (Austria)
Karl-Franzens-Universität Graz

Joris Winderickx
Katholieke Universiteit Leuven

Sergio Giannattasio (Italy)
Consiglio Nazionale delle Ricerche

logo novo